Many people don’t have the workplace skills needed to improve their lives. This is where SETAS comes in. Their aim is to upskill workers while enhancing our ever growing economy.

In our growing economy, skilled workers are constantly in demand. SETAs are there to help people who want to gain valuable workplace skills. They do this by providing training to those who are new to the job scene. They also cater to those who want to improve their current skills.

What Role do SETAs Play?

The main function of a SETA is to make sure that people learn skills that will benefit them. This means that the skills they are taught are ones that are needed by employers and communities. For each SETA to achieve these goals, they need to do the following: 

  • Develop a skills plan 
  • Implement the skills plan for their sector
  • Promote learning programmes 
  • Register agreements for learning programmes 
  • Perform functions assigned by the QCTO 
  • Pay out funds collected from employers and their sector 
  • Work with the National Skills Authority on policy, strategy and sector skills plan

SETAs in South Africa

There are a total of 21 SETAs in South Africa. Each one manages and creates learnerships, skills-based programmes and internships in its sector. Every industry and job in the country is covered by one of the 21 SETAs.

AgriSETA –  The Agricultural Sector Education Training Authority creates and promotes opportunities within the agricultural sector. This includes farming activities. 

BankSETA – The BankSETA aims to develop the skills of those who are interested in working in the banking sector. 

CHIETA – This SETA covers the chemical industries sector. The aim is to provide training and offer employment opportunities to those who qualify. 

CETA – The CETA provides skills development services to the construction sector. This is essential in keeping the sector sustainable. 

CATHSSETA – This SETA develops skills needed for the arts, culture, tourism and sport sub-sectors. They also provide jobs for skilled workers interested in the industry. 

ETDP SETA – The aim of this SETA is to develop skills in the Education, Training and Development sector. 

EWSETA – The EWSETA provides learning opportunities to those interested in working within the energy sector. 

A female worker using the workplace skills she learnt from one of the relevant SETAs

FP&M SETA – The Fibre Processing and Manufacturing SETA consists of a variety of sub-sectors. These sectors are closely related and support each other. 

FASSET – FASSET deals with finance and accounting services. Their aim is to provide people with financial management, accounting and auditing skills. 

FOODBEV SETA – This SETA promotes and facilitates skills development in the food and beverage sector.

HWSETA –  The Health and Welfare SETA aims to create a skilled workforce to meet health and social development needs. 

InSETA – The purpose of this SETA is to develop scarce and critical skills in the insurance sector. It also aims to provide support to the industry. 

LGSETA – This SETA provides skills development training to those who are interested in working within the local government. 

MerSETA – The MerSETA facilitates training and development within the manufacturing, engineering and related services. 

MICT – The MICT SETA plays a role in skills development and economic growth within its sub-sectors. This includes advertising, IT and telecommunications.

MQA – This SETA aims to ensure that the mining and mineral sector has enough skilled workers who will improve health and safety. 

PSETA – The Public Service SETA leads the development of a skilled and competent workforce in the public service sector. 

SASSETA – The Safety and Security SETA creates opportunities for skills development for those who are interested in working within this sector. 

Services SETA – This SETA facilitates and funds learning programmes that build skills-set required by industries. 

TETA – This SETA aims to provide skills development training to people who want to work within the transport industry. 

W&RSETA – The Wholesale and Retail SETA aims to develop a skilled and professional workforce to keep the sector in operation. 

How Else can I Gain Workplace Skills?  

Looking for a different way to gain workplace skills? You should consider enrolling in short courses. Learn new skills or improve on your current ones in a short period of time. It’s also a great way to save money. 

Skills Academy Short Courses 

We offer a variety of short courses that cover an array of topics. This is done through distance learning. You can apply to study at any time and no matric is needed to qualify. All you need is to be able to read and write in English. 

Popular short courses: 

The great thing about our short courses is that you can build on your knowledge and skills. So, if you want to expand your skill set, take a look at our certificate and comprehensive courses. 

A group of skilled workers discussing construction plans. This is covered by one of the available SETAs.

Why Choose Skills Academy?

We are an accredited distance learning institution that offers quality, affordable education. If you choose to become a student, you can enjoy a range of benefits, such as: 

  • No credit checks 
  • Study fast, pay less 
  • 30 day money back guarantee

Which Scarce Skills are in Demand? 

Scarce skills are those skills that are in demand by employers. This means that there aren’t enough skilled professionals in that specific field. These skills make it easier for workers in a specific profession to find work. 

Software development – IT-related skills are by far the most sought-after skills worldwide. Companies want to stay competitive and developing user-friendly software is the way to do it. 

Financial – You can’t do much with money. This is why financial skills are so important. Knowing how to get the most out of your money will benefit you. 

Web development – This is a rapidly growing sector. Every company needs a website and someone to keep it updated. 

Sales – No business will be able to keep operating without money coming in. Sales figures can make or break a company. This is why being skilled in sales is valuable. 

Network and Information security – Being able to protect a company’s private information is a big deal. If you can stop cyber criminals, you’re guaranteed to find a job in this industry.  

Social media – People are constantly glued to their phones. Why not use that to your advantage? Knowing when and what to post forms part of a business’ digital marketing plan.

These hard skills go hand in hand with soft skills, such as communication, teamwork and management. 

What Jobs can I get With Scarce Skills? 

Developing scarce skills can increase your chances of finding a job. These skills will help you stand out to potential employers. Below is a list of some positions you can access in a range of industries: 

  • Manager
  • Technician 
  • Admin worker 
  • Sales worker
  • Machine Operator
  • Driver 

Gain Valuable Workplace Skills With Us! 

Developing your workplace skills is a sure way to stay relevant. Get in touch with us to register or find out more. You can use one of the methods below and we will get back to you: 

Last Updated: November 2, 2020


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp


Thiana Pretorius
Thiana Pretorius
As an avid reader and writer, Thiana aims to create content that is both interesting and useful. She also has a passion for creative writing. Most of her free time is spent either reading or letting her imagination run wild while crafting her own stories. View my LinkedIn profile

Contact us

Click the button to complete a form and we will contact you to help with any queries you might have